4 Ways to Earn Money by Going to the Grocery

If there is one thing I hate doing, it is going to the grocery. My head spins at the 500 options of ketchup to buy, and my ENTJ personality hates the inefficiency that comes with things like having to walk to the BACK CORNER of the store just to pick up some milk!

I also am not a cook, so my brain doesn’t think in terms of recipes when it comes to making a grocery list. It thinks in terms of “what can I pop in the microwave that is decent and requires minimal time to prep?”. Horrible, I know. Thank God Taylor is a cook and enjoys it! Anyway, my goal for 2016 is to get my budget down to a science throughout the year. In an effort to do that I have been writing down every single thing I spend money on and to no surprise, food and grocery items have been a large chunk of my spending because of a lack of planning. 

Because of this, I began doing some research on how to get the best deals at the grocery without spending hours on some Extreme Couponing operation (but, yes, that show is awesome). Here are some things I found out about and how I am making money by just going to the grocery:

(1) Ibotta: I don’t know how I’ve shopped in my adult life without this app! You earn cash back every time you shop at the grocery, and at other stores. In about a month, I’ve earned about $50, just by doing the normal shopping I’m already doing!

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.14.15 PM

  • How To Join: It’s free to join and the app is free to download!
  • How It Works: You can earn money by linking your loyalty account for particular stores (Kroger, Walgreens, CVS, etc.) or by scanning your receipts. I usually scan my receipts. Before  you go shopping, unlock rebates on the app for products you are going to buy. Then, go shopping. When you get home, verify your purchases by scanning the product barcode and then scanning the receipt. The cash is deposited into your Ibotta account within 48 hours.
  • What You Get: CASH MONEY! The rebates you earn will be held in the app until you get to $20. At that point, you can cash out through PayPal or Venmo.
  • Bonus: If you join and then refer your friends you can earn $5 per person (and they earn $10!) when they earn their 1st rebate. All you need to give them is your referral code. (If you don’t know anyone on the app currently and want to use my referral code, you will get $10 when you claim your 1st rebate! Code: ylchjdn)

(2)Checkout 51: I have only recently discovered this app, but received money back on my 1st trip using it!

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.14.28 PM

  • How To Join: It’s free to join and the app is free to download!
  • How It Works:  As stated on the Checkout 51 website,Every Thursday morning, Checkout 51 updates with a new list of offers. All you have to do is pick the ones you like, purchase them at any store, and upload a photo of your receipt through our mobile app or website. When your account reaches $20, we send you a check.”
  • What You Get: CASH MONEY!
  • Bonus: Sometimes items from Ibotta are also on Checkout 51 (example: a gallon of milk) so you get rewarded for 1 item TWICE!

 

(3)Shopkick: This app enables you to earn points (kicks) by just walking in some stores, by purchasing certain items at stores, and by scanning certain items in the store. 

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.13.57 PM

  • How To Join: It’s free to join and the app is free to download. 
  • How It Works: Sign up and begin getting points (kicks) at stores. You can earn points through walk-ins, purchases, and by scanning certain items in stores. Those points (kicks) add up and you can redeem them for gift cards from places like Target, Starbucks, Best Buy, Sephora and more!
  • What You Get: Gift cards or an item of your choice! I could cash out my kicks for a gift card now but I’m saving mine up for something of a larger value 🙂 Shopkick also  features daily deals for stores near you (and a few times I’ve seen free items be featured!).
  • Bonus: When you invite your friends and they use your referral code, you can earn 50% of the kicks your friend earn for 2 weeks.

(4) SavingStar:

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.17.39 PM

  • How to Join: It’s free to join and the app is free to download.
  • How It Works: Before you go to the store, select the grocery items you’re going to buy on the app. When you get home, scan your receipt and the app will verify your purchases and you will get money credited to your account that you can cash out!
  • What You Get: CASH MONEY!
  • Bonus: You can also use SavingStar when you shop online at certain stores through the SavingStar site and earn cash back on things like clothes, airline tickets, makeup, etc. The offers change often.

 

If you have experience with any of these apps, or know of any others that can help others earn money at the grocery, please comment and let me know! I’d love to hear from you!

Screen Shot 2016-01-16 at 6.51.01 PM

4 thoughts on “4 Ways to Earn Money by Going to the Grocery

  1. Kelsey, I had no idea about these things! I am trying to control my expenses, too. I appreciate your knowledge!

Leave a Reply

