Why I’m Writing

So here it goes…! I’m starting a blog. I think I know what you’re thinking, because I know what I thought when I first entertained the idea of starting a blog: “Um, why? There are like a million blogs. What do I have to share that is so world-changing that everyone must read?”

Well, nothing really. I’m definitely not starting this blog in an effort to change anyone’s worldview, but I am starting it to hopefully inspire people to continuously improve, and potentially even make others’ lives a little bit easier. 

You see, I’m a sharer. I’m an outgoing, but private person, so this won’t really be a platform where I’m talking about my daily life, but more sharing things along the way that I’ve found that are helpful to me, especially when it comes to all things related to teaching middle school kids. This blog will also be about saving money. Being  a 20-something with student loans, on a teacher’s salary (big bucks!) means that I’m consistently counting pennies with Taylor (my boyfriend) in an effort to save money so we can reach our financial goals more quickly.

I want this blog to be a platform where I share any tips, tricks, secrets (and even awesome Pinterest links!) that  I’ve picked up along the way in terms of making and saving money, as well as things that are helping me, and can maybe help others, continuously increase our effectiveness in the classroom.And since I’m a sharer, I want to hear from you too! Please follow and subscribe to my blog, and share with me anything you’d like. I encourage comments, or your own tips, tricks and suggestions that can potentially help me and others!

You can also email me at kelseynhayes@gmail.com, or connect with me on Twitter or Instagram!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2016-01-16 at 6.51.01 PM

 

 

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/14662163/?claim=vuen9wvuudf”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

7 thoughts on “Why I’m Writing

  1. You’re my 1st comment ever! Thank you! It’s been fun figuring out how to set it all up and writing seems to be therapeutic for me.

    Also–I’ve looked at yours and recently added it to my Reader list. I really like the layout!

  2. Hey Kels:) Check out YNAB, it’s an awesome budgeting app that we use. App is free but does required a paid software ($60) on a computer. Totally worth it and really helps us pay attention to where every cent goes! LOVE YOU:)

  3. I swear girl – you need to do an Orbit chewing gum commercial with that bright smile of yours. I love how you love the kids at Moore and are willing to put yourself out there to be a better person!!!

  4. So you read, AND commented?! I am so happy! 🙂
    Thank you for the kind compliment! I’ve enjoyed just figuring out how to get it up and running and am excited to write about classroom stuff that helps me that can maybe help others, as well as get people to share stuff with me too!

  5. Not sure why the time shows posted at 9:06 p.m. 1/20/16, when it is not even 9 p.m.

    One thing I like to do with my middle school kids is have them make a booklet and write brief things about themselves after reading “If She Only Knew Me.” It gives me a glance at what they think of themselves and I also have them do illustrations.

Leave a Reply

